The 19th Awaji International Forum on Infection and Immunity
The 19th Awaji International Forum on Infection and Immunity


Program at a Glance

This forum is followed by the Neo-Virology Symposium hosted by the research program “Neovirology” supported by the Grant-in-Aid Scientific Research on Innovative Areas.
You can attend both AIFII2021 and the Neo-Virology Symposium.
Look forward to your participation in both.


Review Talk 1


  • Sho Yamasaki (Division of Molecular Immunology, Research Institute for Microbial Diseases (RIMD) / Immunology Frontier Research Center (IFReC), Osaka University)

Review Talk 2


  • Shimon Sakaguchi (Experimental Immunology, Immunology Frontier Research Center, Osaka University)

Review Talk 3


  • Linfa Wang (Duke-NUS Medical School)

Symposium 1


  • Hirotaka Hiyoshi (Department of Bacteriology, Institute of Tropical Medicine, Nagasaki University)
  • Takashi Nozawa (Department of Microbiology, Graduate School of Medicine, Kyoto University)
  • Sohkichi Matsumoto (Department of Bacteriology, Niigata University Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences)
  • Paudel Atomika (Division of Infection and Immunity, International Institute for Zoonosis Control, Hokkaido University)

Symposium 2


  • Ooi Eng Eong (Programme in Emerging Infectious Diseases, Duke-NUS Medical School)
  • Takasuke Fukuhara (Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Graduate School of Medicine, Hokkaido University)
  • Tadaki Suzuki (Department of Pathology, National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
  • Shuzo Urata (Urata unit, National Research Center for the Control and Prevention of Infectious Diseases, Nagasaki University)

Symposium 3

In Silico Analysis of Biomolecule

  • Hirokazu Yano (Graduate School of Life Sciences, Tohoku University)
  • Takatsugu Hirokawa (Division of Biomedical Science, Faculty of Medicine, University of Tsukuba)
  • Daisuke Kuroda (Medical Device Development and Regulation Research Center, School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo)
  • Yoshikazu Furuta (Division of Infection and Immunity, International Institute for Zoonosis Control)

Symposium 4


  • Toshinori Nakayama (Chiba University)
  • Akihiko Yoshimura (Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Keio University School of Medicine)
  • Sidonia Fagarasan (RIKEN Center for Integrative Medical Sciences)
  • Masaaki Murakami (Institute for Genetic Medicine)

Symposium 5


  • Mayda Gursel (Middle East Technical University)
  • Cevayir Coban (Division of Malaria Immunology, Institute of Medical Science, University of Tokyo (IMSUT))
  • Kisaburo Nagamune (Department of Parasitology, National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
  • Yasuyuki Goto (Laboratory of Molecular Immunology, Graduate School of Agricultural and Life Sciences, The University of Tokyo)

Symposium 6


  • Liying Sun (College of Plant Protection, Northwest A&F University)
  • Roy Hall (Australian Infectious Diseases Research Centre, The University of Queensland, Australia, School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, The University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Nobuhiro Suzuki (Institute of Plant Science and Resources (IPSR), Okayama University)
  • Yoshihiro Kawaoka (Institute of Medical Science, University of Tokyo)